Kwanlin Dün First Nation’s newly elected Council takes office

March 21, 2023

This morning, Kwanlin Dün First Nation’s newly elected Council took their oath of office in front of family, friends, dignitaries and invited guests.

Kwanlin Dün First Nation’s Council is:

  • Chief Sean Uyenets’echᶖa Smith
  • Councillor Charlene Charlie (continuing)
  • Councillor Charles Chief (continuing)
  • Councillor Linda Moen
  • Councillor Jesse Ryder (continuing)
  • Councillor Jolene Smarch
  • Councillor Ray Sydney (continuing)

“I am honoured to serve the Kwanlin Dün people as the newly elected Chief. Gunałcheesh to Kwanlin Dün Citizens for the trust you have put in me. I have been listening to the great ideas you have shared with me to help Kwanlin Dün take our next steps forward. I would like to thank the outgoing Chief, Doris Bill, the former Councillors, and all of the leaders who came before me for their hard work and dedication in bringing our First Nation to where we are today. I look forward to working with our partners in the community and in other governments, KDFN Council and KDFN staff to help our people.”

– Kwanlin Dün First Nation Chief Sean Uyenets’echᶖa Smith


Pictured above (L-R): Chief Smith, Councillor Ryder, Councillor Chief, Councillor Smarch, KDFN Judicial Council Chairperson Debra Thibodeau, Councillor Moen, Councillor Charlie, and Councillor Sydney.